top of page

2019 Tony Nominations Recap

It's officially Tony season! On April 30, Brandon Victor Dixon and Bebe Neuwirth announced the nominees for the 73rd Annual Tony Awards, to be hosted by James Corden on June 9. Here are the nominees:

Best Musical: Hadestown, Tootsie, Ain't Too Proud: The Life and Times of the Temptations, The Prom, and Beetlejuice

Best Play: The Ferryman, Ink, What the Constitution Means to Me, Choir Boy, and Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus

Best Revival of a Musical: Kiss, Me Kate! and Oklahoma!

Best Revival of a Play: All My Sons, The Boys in the Band, Torch Song, Burn This, and The Waverly Gallery

Best Leading Actor in a Musical: Brooks Ashmanskas (The Prom), Derrick Baskin (Ain't Too Proud), Alex Brightman (Beetlejuice), Damon Daunno (Oklahoma!), and Santino Fontana (Tootsie)

Best Leading Actress in a Musical: Stephanie J. Block (The Cher Show), Caitlin Kinnunen (The Prom), Beth Leavel (The Prom), Eva Noblezada (Hadestown), and Kelli O'Hara (Kiss Me, Kate!)

Best Featured Actor in a Musical: Andre De Shields (Hadestown), Andy Grotelueschen (Tootsie), Patrick Page (Hadestown), Jeremy Pope (Ain't Too Proud), and Ephraim Sykes (Ain't Too Proud)

Best Featured Actress in a Musical: Lilli Cooper (Tootsie), Amber Gray (Hadestown), Sarah Stiles (Tootsie), Ali Stroker (Oklahoma!), and Mary Testa (Oklahoma!)

Best Leading Actor in a Play: Paddy Considine (The Ferryman), Bryan Cranston (Network), Jeff Daniels (To Kill a Mockingbird), Adam Driver (Burn This), and Jeremy Pope (Choir Boy)

Best Leading Actress in a Play: Annette Bening (All My Sons), Laura Donnelly (The Ferryman), Elaine May (The Waverly Gallery), Janet McTeer (Bernhardt/Hamlet), Laurie Metcalf (Hillary and Clinton), and Heidi Schreck (What the Constitution Means to Me)

Best Featured Actor in a Play: Bertie Carvel (Ink), Robin De Jesus (The Boys in the Band), Gideon Glick (To Kill a Mockingbird), Brandon Uranowitz (Burn This), and Benjamin Walker (All My Sons)

Best Featured Actress in a Play: Finnoula Flanagan (The Ferryman), Celia Keenan-Bolger (To Kill a Mockingbird), Kristine Nielsen (Gary), Julie White (Gary), and Ruth Wilson (King Lear)

Best Book of a Musical: Dominique Morriseau (Ain't Too Proud), Scott Brown & Anthony King (Beetlejuice), Anais Mitchell (Hadestown), Bob Martin & Chad Beguelin (The Prom), and Robert Horn (Tootsie)

Best Original Score (Music and/or Lyrics): Joe Iconis (Be More Chill), Eddie Perfect (Beetlejuice), Anais Mitchell (Hadestown), Matthew Sklar & Chad Beguelin (The Prom), Adam Guettel (To Kill a Mockingbird), and David Yazbek (Tootsie)

Best Choreography: Camille A. Brown (Choir Boy), Warren Carlyle (Kiss Me, Kate!), Denis Jones (Tootsie), David Neumann (Hadestown), and Sergio Trujillo (Ain't Too Proud)

Best Director of a Musical: Rachel Chavkin (Hadestown), Scott Ellis (Tootsie), Daniel Fish (Oklahoma!), Des McAnuff (Ain't Too Proud), Casey Nicholaw (The Prom)

Best Director of a Play: Rupert Goold (Ink), Sam Mendes (The Ferryman), Bartlett Sher (To Kill a Mockingbird), Ivo van Hove (Network), and George C. Wolfe (Gary)

Best Orchestrations: Michael Chorney & Todd Sickafoose (Hadestown), Simon Hale (Tootsie), Larry Hochman (Kiss, Me Kate!), Daniel Kluger (Oklahoma!), and Harold Wheeler (Ain't Too Proud)

Best Costume Design of a Musical: Michael Krass (Hadestown), William Ivey Long (Beetlejuice), William Ivey Long (Tootsie), Bob Mackie (The Cher Show), and Paul Tazwell (Ain't Too Proud)

Best Costume Design of a Play: Rob Howell (The Ferryman), Toni-Leslie James (Bernhardt/Hamlet), Clint Ramos (Torch Song), Ann Roth (Gary), and Ann Roth (To Kill a Mockingbird)

Best Scenic Design of a Musical: Robert Brill & Peter Nigrini (Ain't Too Proud), Peter England (King Kong), Rachel Hauck (Hadestown), Laura Jellinek (Oklahoma!), and David Korins (Beetlejuice)

Best Scenic Design of a Play: Miriam Buether (To Kill a Mockingbird), Bunny Christie (Ink), Rob Howell (The Ferryman), Santo Loquasto (Gary), and Jan Versweyveld (Network)

Best Lighting Design of a Musical: Kevin Adams (The Cher Show), Howell Binkley (Ain't Too Proud), Bradley King (Hadestown), Peter Mumford (King Kong), Kenneth Posner & Peter Nigrini (Beetlejuice)

Best Lighting Design of a Play: Neil Austin (Ink), Jules Fisher & Peggy Eisenhauer (Gary), Peter Mumford (The Ferryman), Jennifer Tipton (To Kill a Mockingbird), Jan Versweyveld & Tal Yarden (Network)

It was also recently announced that Marin Mazzie will recieve and posthumous Special Tony Award. Other recipients of Special Tony Awards will be Sonny Tilders and Creature Technology Co. for their work on the King Kong puppet, as well as Jason Michael Webb for his a capella arrangements in Choir Boy.

It was also announced that Judith Light will receive this year's Isabelle Stevenson Award, and Rosemary Harris, Terrence McNally, and Harold Wheeler will each receive a Special To ny Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre. Additionally, this year's Regional Theatre Tony Award will go to TheatreWorks Silicon Valley.

bottom of page